More Ramblings from a Los Angeles Programmer

January 9, 2008

Holidays and a New Year

Filed under: coding, daily life, technology, uk life — Tags: , , , , — Josh DeWald @ 5:52 pm

It’s been a while…

I’m ending a nice long 3-or-so week extended Christmas (just me, the wife, and pictures of gifts from family), New Year’s (very cool dinner on a ship permanently docked on the Thames. Those who know me won’t be surprised to know that I spilled red wine all over the table within about 2 minutes of sitting down. The 9 others at the table were quite nice about it) and 5-day Moroccan holiday in Marrakesh (مراكش). The last was quite cool (finally something different from Europe, you can only handle so many castles) but hectic and wearing at times (I can only handle so much haggling.. even though it’s satisfying to only pay 50% of the original price, I know I’m still paying way more than the price a local would pay). Again those who know me will not be surprised to know that I dropped (and shattered) the large tagine that we had purchased… was about 10 feet from our boarding gate at the airport.

And to really but an end to the holiday, my wife is now on a plane back to the States to get us going for our repatriation there. I will be following 3 weeks later, as my year-long stint here in the UK is ending. I have have had an awesome time here, both at work in out and about. Met some great people who I will definitely miss.

And now for something completely different..

To bring things back around to geeky stuff (I tend to skim over other people’s personal stuff, so I understand if you, Reader, have done the same) I have finally started working on my Super Nintendo (SNES) emulator. It is still using the same basic core as the C64 and NES emulators. Main difference is that the SNES using a 65816, a successor to the 6502 which can address 16MB of memory (24 bits) and implements all of the 256 op codes and adds some more addressing modes. When it initially starts up, it is actually in 6502 emulation mode (with bugs that the original 6502 had fixed, which I’m sure provided frustration to many developers who depended on undocumented instructions and bugs). I have gotten some basic graphics to work in the ‘test.smc’ demo included in Y0shi’s documentation, but it is nowhere near even able to get screenshots, but hopefully only a week or so (I’ve spent a feverish 3 or 4 days dedicated to SNES stuff, but probably spent another couple of weeks previously working toward getting an Apple IIGS emulator working, which uses the same processor) to get there.

I have started adding some JUnit tests of the actual instruction implementations, as even minor bugs can truly spiral out of control in the running of the system.

As usual, Zophar’s domain has proved invaluable for obtaining documentation, but I have also used Wikipedia for system overview (memory sizes and the like) and another site I stumbled on just called “Emu-Docs

I will make the code available via CVS or Subversion once it is in a usable state. Apparently my wife never really played the SNES, so we shall see if I can find anything to drive me like getting SMB3 working on the NES did.  I would love to get Super Mario Kart working.

I have been using ZSNES as my “reference” for what a working system should look like (I don’t know if it’s open source or not, but I am only using the executable in any case).

Shoutout goes to the many people who dedicated hours and hours dissecting and analyzing the SNES and writing emulators in C and Assembly which ran on old Pentiums. My Java emulator may one day run at a full speed on a 2 Gig machine 🙂

2 Comments »

  1. Have you ever covered why Java emulation is so much slower? I’m assuming it can’t be all attributed to your poor coding j/k =) What does C/C++ have that Java doesn’t that slows the Java emulation? Macros, inline methods? Just guessing.

    Comment by Repete — January 17, 2008 @ 7:57 pm

  2. I haven’t covered that 🙂

    I don’t think it’s my bad coding per se (but of course can’t discount that). I actually don’t think it has anything to do with Java either. I actually think it is more about coding _style_. I have intentionally made things fairly object-oriented so that it is readable and easy to modify. This creates the need for more method calls, dispatch lookups, etc.

    I actually have not looked at all that much emulator source (I’d prefer to do “clean room” implementations), but the bits that I have seen tend to be a lot more “low-level” in that the instructions tend to be implemented right inline with the CPU (which is definitely a route I could go down) and memory access is delayed or has hard-coded sizes and the like. Also lots of macros, as you point out.

    It is also possible that for this type of task, C/C++ is in fact faster.

    Comment by Josh DeWald — January 17, 2008 @ 9:09 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

