More Ramblings from a Los Angeles Programmer

January 18, 2007

Calculating Quality of American Idol Audition

Filed under: daily life — Josh DeWald @ 5:09 am

Through my minimal watching of American Idol (my wife loves the show), I’ve noticed that, at least in the auditions they choose to show, talent is inversely proportional to self-perception of talent.

T = 1/kS + C

Where:

T = talent
S = Self-perception of talent
k = Constant of proportion
C = Base level of talent (one hopes this exists)

I think that S reveals itself through, and can perhaps be quantified by, the usage of such terms and phrases as “unique”,”different than “everyone else”,”I’ve been told I sound like…” and, with extra weighting, “I know that I’m going to be next American Idol” and “I have a wide vocal range.”

Writing this reminded me of an article I read a while back about the fact that incompetent people tend to believe they are experts. I believe that this is actual the original article.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

