More Ramblings from a Los Angeles Programmer

January 2, 2007

Start of a new year

Filed under: daily life — Josh DeWald @ 2:33 am

For the past couple of years, the New Year has only meant that I reset my counter for my reading goal of 52 books in a year. The first year, I managed 54 in the end. This year I was able to get 48. If I pretend that my goal was 4 books a month, then I met the goal! Score one for revisionism. I actually think I will make that my revised goal for this year. On top of it I would like to write at least one short story a month.

I haven’t really tried writing but I have been wanting to for a long time and the best way to write is to write. My own maintenance of this blog will hopefully not be the best indicator at my ability to maintain steady prose. I don’t actually have any ideas yet, so it should be…entertaining.

I have a feeling that I’ll quickly want to change my reading habits to be 2 a month. However, depending on where I live when I move to England for my job, I could have a 45 minute train ride (similar to my hour to hour and half bus ride here in LA) to work and back to get my reading (and writing) done.

I’ve also been working recently on my Commodore 64 Emulator . I’ve made some strides in the graphics handling. There are some weird glitches in playing the games which I think might be related to the not-quite-accurate-but-not-horrible-either timing of the instruction emulation. So I need to revisit that and hopefully that will iron out some of the weirdness. It has come a long way since I got ’10 PRINT “HELLO WORLD”‘ to work.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

